The Municipality of Lubuagan is one of the eight (8) municipalities of the province of Kalinga. It lies in the central part of the province in the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR).  It is geographically situated between coordinates 120 degrees, 55’ east Longitude, 17 degrees 17’ and 17 degrees 25’ Latitude.


Lubuagan has a total land area of 32,950 hectares. On the north is bounded by the municipality of Pasil, on the east by the municipality of Tanudan, on the west by the province of Abra and on the south by the municipality of Tinglayan.


Lubuagan is 49 kilometers going north from Tabuk City, the capital of the province, and 84 kilometers from Tuguegarao City through the Tabuk-Lubuagan-Bontoc National Road.  In the south from the province of Benguet, it is 500 kilometers by the same national road.


Lubuagan is composed of nine (9) barangays namely: Barangay Antonio Canao, Barangay Dangoy, Barangay Lower Uma, Barangay Mabilong, Barangay Mabongtot, Barangay Poblacion, Barangay Tanglag, Barangay Upper Uma and Barangay Western Uma.